fatdown

Slowing down time

In Uncategorized on July 26, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Not that I never loose my temper now, but there was a time when people could punch my buttons much more easily.  At thirty I was still a new teacher and was appalled to find that apparently they (the buttons) were still out there for some students.  I convinced myself that I never wanted to give out that “free show” that teachers and adults give as a reward to the entire class for a student or two finally getting to them.  I had to slow everything down, realize what was happening before my mind reacted to the offence, and just float contently above whatever nonscence  was going on.  The other thing was to figure out why something upset me, what was it I was trying to prove at the moment?  What was it that made me emotionally susceptible to a certain behavior or certain words by a student?  Finally, how are these related to weight loss. 

Part of what I hope to gain by writing is to slow down my reaction time and figure out what it is thats getting to me between late afternoon and midnight.  Here I am again at about 1000 calories in the mid afternoon.  I’m just going to record what happens for as many days as it takes.  We’ll see what happens. 

So far today I’ve gone running (about 3 miles), spent the morning with all of my kids then went for a walk to the ice cream parlor with the two youngest followed by a few rounds of pool.  Now we’re home.  One of them is going to watch the Dodger game, the other is going to the  skate park.  I’m dropping him off on my way to a hike.  I’ll pick him back up on the way back.  Then the consumption will begin.

First there will be a green smoothie.  Dinner will be a chicken breast sandwich with cheese or a giant tortilla with shredded lettuce, cheese, salsa and maybe black beans.  That should take me to about 2000 calories.  I don’t care if I get up to 2500, but I’d like to be as low as 2000 at least three times a week. 

Someone or something is going to attempt to derail my little plan here isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

